Park Wins Vare Trophy

NAPLES, Fla., November 22, 2015 – The battle for the prestigious Vare Trophy came down to the final round of the year at the CME Group Tour Championship. Inbee Park clinched her second career scoring average title on Sunday after closing with a final round 3-under 69, and finished with a 69.41 scoring average for the year. Lydia Ko needed to beat Park this week in Naples by two shots but finished a shot behind Park for the week and with a 69.44 final scoring average.

It’s Park’s second Vare Trophy title and first since 2012. “Yeah, my dad told me yesterday I needed to shoot one shot better than Lydia today.,” Park explained. “I was trying to play good out there today. This is I think probably the most pres- sure I ever felt.” Clinching the honor also gave Park her 27th and fi nal point needed for the LPGA Hall of Fame qualifi cation criteria. Players must be active members for 10 seasons to be eligible and Park will enter her 10th season next year in 2016. “To be honest, I really wanted to do get the points for the Hall of Fame,” Park said. “I thought the money was out there, definitely. The Hall of Fame was really on my mind all this week. I think I got too nervous like the last five or six holes coming in. Going into the Hall of Fame is something I’ve been dreaming off all of my life.” Park fi nished another historic season this year which included two major championship victories and fi ve wins over- all. She won her third-consecutive KPMG Women’s PGA Championship and completed the Career Grand Slam at the RICOH Women’s British Open. She also held the No. 1 spot in the Rolex Women’s World Golf Rankings for a total of 24 weeks in 2015.

Leave a Reply

